Canadian National Soccer League

National Soccer League / Canadian Soccer League / La Ligue Canadienne Nationale de Soccer / Archives

1935 Season

1935 National Soccer League

President: Arthur Arnold
Vice-predidents: M.A. Searle, Toronto and D.S. Wilkinson, Montreal
Secretary: George McBain, Toronto


In December 1934 the NSL Western Section recieved applications from Guelph Lancashires and Toronto team England United. The new England United team was seen as a welcome addition after many years with teams named the Scottish and the Irish.

The annual general meeting was held at the Windsor Hotel in Montreal on Saturday January 12, 1935.

It was announced after the meeeting that the creation of a Northern Section was practically assured. The teams that would be included in the Northern Section were Falconbridge, Frood, McIntyre, Noranda, Dome Creighton and Kirkland Lake.

A Southern Section was also discussed. If this section would materialize it was expected that it would include clubs from the Western Ontario League.

At a league meeting at Walker House in Toronto on February 16, 1935, England United were granted membership in the NSL.

Review of the season – Western Division

The NSL season in Toronto opened on Saturday May 4 with Toronto Scottish beating England United 5-1.

The two Hamilton teams opened their NSL season in Hamilton on Tuesday evening May 7. Hamilton Thistles defeated Hamilton City 2-1.

On June 22 Toronto Scottish defeated Hamilton Thistles 3-0 at Oakwood Stadium. Scottish thus climbed into a tie for the leadership of the National Soccer League with Ulster United.

Calgary Herald, July 9, 1935: “British Consols, Ulster United and Toronto Scottish are taking turns in leading the National Soccer League”.

On July 27 Toronto Scottish and British Consols played to a 2-2 draw. This meant that the two clubs remained tied in second place in the league standings.

Ulster United, Toronto Scottish, British Consols and Toronto Maple Leafs qualified for the Western Division play-off championship.

Standings (as of September 14, 1935)

Ulster United2316 3 6603136
Toronto Scottish2413 3 3422634
British Consols2413 5 6462832
Toronto Maple Leafs2110 9 2263122
Hamilton City22 713 2353016
Hamilton Thistles20 513 2213212
England United24 220 22931 6

Western Division semifinals 

Ulster United 4
British Consols 3

Toronto Scottish 1
Toronto Maple Leafs 0

Western Division Finals
Not played

Review of the season – Eastern Division

The NSL season in the Eastern Division kicked off on Saturday May 4. Emard St. Paul defeated Carsteel 3-0. Hamilton United beat Aldred 3-0. Canadian Nationals humiliated Ulster United by beating them 8-0.

Montreal Aldred won the Domonion championship, the Quebec title and the NSL Eastern Division championship. The club lost only two games during the NSL season in the Eastern Division.

Final standings

Montreal Aldred1525
Emard St. Paul1520
Hamilton United1518
Montreal Carsteel1517
Montreal C. N. R.1510
Montreal Ulster United15 0

Review of the season – Northern Division

The National Soccer League expanded into Northern Ontario, thus creating three divisions. Because of the Depression many players from the Toronto-Hamilton area in particular had moved north to find work, and had strengthened the teams in the mining areas. Falconbridge Mines, Frood Mines and Timmins Dome Mines became powerful teams on the national scene.

Clubs: Frood Mines, Falconbridge Falcons, McIntyre Mines, Noranda, Dome Creighton, Kirkland Lake

Frood Mines qualified for playoffs.

1935 Lord Atholstan Cup Final

May 25, 1936 Consols Stadium, Toronto
Attendance: 1,500
Referee: W. Newton
Ulster United 1 (Bill Quinn)
Frood Mines 3 (Simpson, Davies, Waide)
Ulster: Wilson; Bill Davison, Doug McBride; Bill Quinn, Norman Bundy (George Singleton), Harold McCullough; Sam McNabney, Johnny Aitken, George Graham, Gordon, Meldrum. Sub: Bob Hume
Frood: Jimmy France; Cyril Meadows, Bob Murray; Bill Campbell, Dick Waide, Billy Grassum; Angus MacDonald, George Simpson, Taffy Davies, Billy Young, Alec Gray. Subs: J. Grassaum, Gaylor

Title awarded to Frood Mines when Ulster United refused to play the second game in Sudbury.

Exhibition games

May 22, 1935, Toronto
Attendance: 10,000
Toronto All-Stars 1
Scottish Football Association XI 3
Read about the match here

June 8, 1935, Maple Leaf Stadium, Toronto, Ontario
Attendance: 8,000
Eastern Canada All-Stars 0
Scottish Football Association 6
Read about the match here

error: Content is protected !!