1938 National Soccer League

President: Duncan Cameron
Vice-presidents: Arthur Arnold and A. Bush
Secretary: George McBain

Annual general meeting

The Annual General Meeting of the National Soccer League was held in Toronto on February 20, 1938. Duncan Cameron of Montreal was elected president of the league. Arthur Arnold of Hamilton and A. Bush of Montreal were elected vice-presidents. George McBain of Toronto was re-elected as secretary. Eight clubs from Montreal were represented at the meeting, and seven from Toronto and Hamilton. No clubs from the northern section were represented at the meeting.

Review of the season

On September 27 secretary George McBain announced that due to a lack of suitable dates the Atholstan Cup finals would be postponed until the next spring. The finals were however never played and the championship was awarded to Montreal Royal Victoria Hospital.

In December Hamilton Thistle were suspended by the league for failure to pay financial obligations $18,58. They were replaced by Hamilton Stelco in the 1939 NSL season.

Results and standings

September 17, 1938 Toronto
Ulster United 3
British Consols 2

September 17, 1938 Toronto
Toronto Scottish 2
Toronto Maple Leafs 2

September ??, 1938 Replay
Toronto Scottish
Toronto Maple Leafs

Western Section finals
September 24, 1938 Toronto
Toronto Maple Leafs 1 (Buchanan)
Ulster United 3 (Graham 2, Aiken)

September 26, 1938 Toronto
Toronto Maple Leafs 2
Ulster United 6
Ulster United won the two-game, total-goals series.

Eastern Section Playoffs
September 5, 1938 Glen Yards grounds, Montreal
Royal Victoria Hospital 1 (Albert Bejshak)
Carsteel 0
After OT

Atholstan Cup Final
Royal Victoria Hospital defeated Ulster United*

*The 1938 Atholstan Cup Final was postponed until the spring of 1939, but was never played. The championship was awarded to Montreal Royal Victoria Hospital.

Exhibition game

May 25, 1938 Toronto
Ulster United 2 (Sam McNabney 2)
Corinthians (England) 3 (Johnny Miller 2, Jack Sherwood)