Canadian National Soccer League

National Soccer League / Canadian Soccer League / La Ligue Canadienne Nationale de Soccer / Archives

1942 Season


Honorary president: Len A. Peto
Honorary vice-presidents: Mayor F. J. Conboy, Toronto; C. S. Richardson, Toronto and Brig.-Gen. F. S. Meighen, Montreal
President: E. R. Slade, Toronto
Vice-presidents: H. Pickering, Toronto and D. Cameron, Montreal


After the annual general meeting held in Toronto it was announced on April 14, 1942, that the league would continue as usual. At the meeting Len A. Peto was elected honorary president. E. R. Slade of Toronto was elected preisdent, with Bert Pickering and Duncan Cameron elected vice-presidents.

Western Division

On May 5 Ulster United announced that they had withdrawn from the Western Division of the NSL. They would instead compete in the Toronto Senior Soccer League. In the following days Toronto Scottish and Liptons decided to do the same. On May 8 Maple Leafs announced that they would discontinue operations. This left the Western Division without any teams.

Eastern Division

Joe Kennaway was the player coach of the Wings.

Merchant Navy joined the National League with a crack team. However, many of its star players were called to sea just ours before the first game.

Standings as of May 29, 1942


1942 Toronto Senior Soccer League

The Toronto Senior Soccer League announced in April 1942 that it had nine clubs sure starters for the 1942 season. These clubs were O’Keefe’s, Mimico Beach, Eastwood Park, John Inglis Company, a team from Camp Little Norway and four teams from the Canadian armed services.

In May 1942 former National Soccer League clubs Liptons, Toronto Scottish and Ulster United joined the Toronto Senior League.

The Royal Norwegian Air Force team from Camp Little Norway in Toronto, played under the name of Vikings.

1942 Toronto City Cup


Ulster United 1, Dominion Bridge 6
Ulster United 7, Dominion Bridge 0

Ulster United won the 1942 Toronto City Cup. The final was played in 1943.

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: