1947 National Soccer League

President: Wally Vogan
Vice-presidents: Miss Jean Gordon, Toronto and Pat Nolan, Montreal
Secretary-treasurer: Bill Howie

Annual general meeting

The annual general meeting was held on Sunday March 23, 1947. Wally Vogan was re-elected as president and an unusual precedent was established with the election of Miss Jean Gordon as vice-president. The league would again be inter-provincial, consisting of Toronto Greenbacks, Montreal Stelco, Montreal Falcons and Montreal Carsteel. The Falcons were later replaced by Ulster United of Toronto.

Clubs and players

Ulster United had to post a bond of $1,000 to be admitted into the league. Jack Rudland, star centre-forward, missed parts of the season due to a broken leg. The trainer of the team was Jack Templeton, a cousin of former Scottish internationalist Bobby Templeton.

Carsteel and Stelco also competed in the National City League in Montreal.

Stelco were led by Hugh Godley who was said to have played for Hull City in England. In June the club signed John Thomson who had played for Arbroath in the Scottish League.

Carsteel signed John Sinclair, formerly of Dundee.

Toronto Greenbacks also competed in the North American Professional Soccer League. The star of the team was Les Medley, formerly of Tottenham and England. They also signed Allan Jenkins from Bradford City. Their forward line was led by Harry Phillips, who was their leading goal scorer in the 1946 season.

Review of the season

The opening game of the 1947 season was played in Toronto on Saturday May 17. Ulster United beat Montreal Carsteel 4-1 in front of what was described as a small and chilled crowd.

Ulster United won 2-1 over Carsteel in Montreal on Sunday June 29. A crowd of 2,500 watched the NSL game.

Doug Cunningham was awarded the McLagan Trophy. The trophy was awarded annually to the Most Valuable Player in the eastern section of the NSL.

Results and standings

Exhibition games

November 27, 1947 Sterling Oval, New York
Attendance: 2,500
New York All-Stars 3 (Jack Hynes 3)
Ulster United 3 (Les Medley, Bill Cairns, Don Ross)