1950 National Soccer League

President: Herb Pickering

Annual general meeting

At a meeting held in Toronto on December 10, 1949 the western division voted to continue to operate as a five-team league. Seven applications to join the league were rejected. These were Windsor Sterling, Brantford and five Toronto-teams. However at a later date the league admitted Ulster United and Toronto Ukraina into the league. The decision to admit Ulster United was said to have much to do with the fact that they held the lease on Toronto’s Broadview Stadium and also had planned a lucrative exhibition match against Manchester United in the summer. Toronto Ukraina were formed in 1948 and won the Toronto Senior League in 1949.


Referees: Bob Crawford,

Western Division – Clubs and players

East End Canadians

Hamilton City

Hamilton Westinghouse


St. Andrews

Toronto Scottish


Ulster United

Western DivisionResults and standings

August 9, 1950
St. Andrew’s 2
East End Canadians 1

August 12, 1950
Hamilton Westinghouse 2
St. Andrews 1

Eastern Division – Clubs and players

Canadair Falcons







Eastern DivisionResults and standings

Review of the season

Hamilton Westinghouse won the Atholstan Cup. The team was captained by Jack Davidson.

August 30, 1950 Charlevoix Ground, Montreal
Canadair Falcons 3
Westmount 1

September 3, 1950 Charlevoix Ground, Montreal
Canadair Falcons 3
Westmount 1

Canadair Falcons won two-game, total-goals series 6-2

Atholstan Cup Final
September 16, 1950 Charlevoix Ground, Montreal
Canadair Falcons 2 (Chuck Rose 2)
Hamilton Westinghouse 3 (John Burgoyne, Campbell 2)

September 17, 1950 Charlevoix Ground, Montreal
Canadair Falcons 1 (Stan Rose)
Hamilton Westinghouse 1 (John Burgoyne)

Hamilton Westinghouse won two-game total goal series 4-3 over the Falcons