1971 National Soccer League

League officials

League president: Ian Dickson replaced by Joe Piccininni
League secretary: Ivan Habus


Referees included Emerson Mathurin

Review of the season

St. Catharines Heidelberg joined the league. Ottawa Sons of Italy changed their name to Ottawa Tigers.

The member clubs of the the NSL during 1971 season were:

Croatia National S.C. (Toronto)

Toronto Ukraina S. A.

Kitchener Concordia

Hellas Athletic Club (Toronto)

Toronto Hungaria S.C.

Serbia S. C. White Eagle (Toronto)

The First Portuguese Canadian Club

Sudbury City F. C.

Croatia Sport Club (Hamilton)

Tigers S.C. Ottawa

Heidelberg National S. C. (St Catharines)

Olympia F. C. (Toronto)

Hamilton Apollos

Homiros Hamilton F. C.

German Canadian Club (London)

Toronto Croatia won the league and playoff championship.

Total attendance at Stanley Park for the whole season was 145,000. Up 15,000 from the previous season.

Final standings

Leading goalscorer:
1. Ferruccio Deni (Sudbury City)

Leading goalkeeper:
1. Zeljko Bilecki (Toronto Croatia)

National Soccer League Play-offs

Play-off final

October 11, 1971 at Stanley Park
Attendance: 7,000
Toronto Croatia 1 (Bruno Pilas)
First Portuguese 0

National Soccer League Cup


August 23, 1971 Toronto
Attendance: 4,267
Toronto Hellas 0
First Portuguese 1 (Carlos Correia)

First Portuguese qualified for NSL Cup final

August 14, 1971 Ottawa
Ottawa Tigers 1
Sudbury City 1
*After OT

August ??, 1971
Ottawa Tigers 1
Sudbury City 1

XX qualified for NSL Cup final


XX, 1971 XXX
First Portuguese

Export Cup – Canadian Open Championship

October 17, 1971 Toronto
Attendance: 4,373
Toronto Croatia 3 (Bruno Pilas, Alija Solak, Marijan Bradvic)
Vancouver Eintracht 0

Exhibition games

July 3, 1971 Toronto
Attendance: 7,500
Toronto Croatia 0
Dinamo Zagreb 1 (Drago Vabec)

July 18, 1971 Ivor Wynne Stadium, Hamilton
Hamilton Croatia
Dinamo Zagreb