1987 National Soccer League

League commissioner: Rocco LoFranco

Annual general meeting

The annual general meeting was held in December 1986. At the meeting one team was added, North York International. A further league meeting was held on January 11, 1987 where it was expected that a second Toronto expansion team, Cabbagetown, would be added. Also plans for a junior division was made. 

In February the NSL added Toronto International and Chile Lindo.


Referees: John Quinn (London, Ontario)

Clubs and players

Chile Lindo

Founded: 1975
Player-coach: Carlos Rivas

Roster included Carlos Rivas, Meally Freeman, Sandy Oczmar, Luis Marin, Alex Manedio, Julio Breceno

Chile Lindo was another new team from Toronto. They were coached by Carlos Rivas. They quickly became known for the poor behavior by their players and fans, and recieved a record fine of $5,000 from the NSL.

First Portuguese

Founded: September 23, 1956
Head Coach:
Key players:

London Marconi Soccer Club

Founded: 1962
Stadium: Marconi Stadium, London, Ontario
Head Coach:

Roster included defenders Jens Kraemer and Stephen Jennings; Vito Pettinato; forwards Lou Fotia and John Perciballi

Striker John Perciballi joined from Windsor Wheels in mid-July.

Mississauga Lakers

Mississauga Lakers joined the league after winning the Petro Canada League in the 1986 season.

Nacional Latino
Founded: 1987
Head coach: Louis Caruso

When the Toronto Blizzard left for the new Canadian Soccer League, the old backers of Dinamo Latino decided to field a new team in the NSL. The newly-formed team was called Nacional Latino. Luis Caruso coached the team.


Founded: 1976
Head Coach:
Key players:

St. Catharines Roma

Founded: 1967
Stadium: Roma Park, St. Catharines
Head Coach:
Key players:

Roster included Trevor Murdoch

Toronto Croatia

Founded: 1956
Head coach: Bruno Pilas replaced by Vid Horvath

Toronto Croatia started the season with Brunos Pilas as their head coach but he was replaced by former NK Zagreb coach Vid Horvath. They operated with a $100,000 budget, most of which was used to pay player salaries. They signed five imports including forward Drago Santic from Hajduk Split, Nenad Omicharod from Sarajevo and Les Shrle from Greece.

Toronto Internacional
Head coach: Ted Pope

Roster included Mauro Silva

New team Toronto Internacional was coached by Ted Pope. They had been playing in the Canadian Indoor Soccer League in the 1986-87 winter season. Among their leading players were Rodrigo Mafla and Marinel Risnita, both formerly of Toronto Italia. After the season goalkeeper Velomir Siljanoski moved to Toronto Italia.

Toronto Italia

Founded: 1972
Stadium: Centennial Stadium, Toronto, Ontario
Head coach: German Sanchez

Roster included goalkeeper Otto Orf; midfielder Dino Lopez; forwards Carmin Groe and Carlos Salguero

Toronto Italia won the two knockout trophies, the Ontario Cup and Canada Cup. Italia provided four players to the NSL All-Stars. Hardley Scott joined Italia in July after he was released by the North York Rockets. Coach of the team was German Sanchez.

Windsor Wheels

Stadium: Windsor Stadium, Windsor, Ontario
Head Coach: Mirko Bazic

Roster included goalkeeper Rob Agostini; Edson Dias; forwards Mark Tirikian

The Wheels hired Yugoslavian Mirko Bazic as their coach. He was a former coach of Borac Banja Luka in Yugoslavia. Bazic was hire don a two-year, $15,000 per year contract.

Striker John Perciballi joined London Marconi in mid-July.

Review of the season

Windsor Wheels won the league championship.

1987 NSL All-Stars

Otto Orf (Toronto Italia); Jack Sanza (London Marconi), Billy Boucas (Windsor Wheels), Jens Kraemer (London Marconi), ???? (Panhellenic); John Contanas (Panhellenic), Edison Diaz (Windsor Wheels); Boris Kukolja (Toronto Croatia), Hardley Scott (Toronto Italia), Carlos Salguero (Toronto Italia), Carmen Groe (Toronto Italia)

Results and standings

NSL Play-offs
September 30, 1987 Windsor Stadium, Windsor
Windsor Wheels 0
London Marconi 2 (Vito Pettinato, Lou Fotia)

September ??, 1987
Toronto Italia defeated Toronto Croatia

October ??, 1987
Toronto Italia 2
London Marconi 0

NSL Cup Final
September 20, 1987 Centennial Stadium, Etobicoke
Toronto Italia 1 (Hardley Scott)
Windsor Wheels 0

September 24, 1987 Windsor
Attendance: 750
Windsor Wheels 3 (Franjo Domic 2, Paul Pecoraro)
Toronto Italia 4 (Hardley Scott 2, Carmin Groe, Carlos Salguero)

Toronto Italia won the two-game total-goal series

Canadian Championship*
October 5, 1987 St. Léonard
Sherbrooke Univestrie 0
Windsor Wheels 1 (Mark Tirikian)
*Contested between the winner of the Ontario NSL League and the Quebec NSL League champions. 

Canada Cup**
September 26, 1987 Centennial Stadium, Etobicoke
Toronto Italia 3 (Carlos Salguero 2, Hardley Scott)
St. Léonard-Corfinium 0

**Contested between the winner of the Ontario NSL Cup and the Quebec NSL Cup