1990 National Soccer League

League commissioner: Rocco LoFranco

In what the league called its 67th season they operated with nine teams in its first division and seven teams in the second division. Before the season London City paid the London Marconi club $1 for their franchise rights, making a comeback in the NSL.

Clubs and players

America United
Head Coach: Manuel Bilches
Key players: Goalkeeper Ernesto Garin; Rolando Carlen, Marcelo Marcucci, Sergio Lerman, Walter Videla, Ricardo Paquine

First Portuguese

Founded: September 23, 1956
Head Coach:
Key players: Goalkeeper Paolo Silva, defender Armando Mantaja, midfielders Gonzalo Martinez and Vagner Silva, forward Hugo Lopez

Goalkeeper Paolo Silva joined the club from Brazilian club Democrata FC. After the season First Portuguese dropped out from the league.

London City

Stadium: London Stadium, London
Founded: 1973
General manager: Harry Paul Gauss
Head Coach: Harry Paul Gauss
Key players: Goalkeeper Brian Gosling, defender Doug Rudnicki, forwards Paul Hillman and Nathan Eldridge

Oshawa Italian Recreation Club

Founded: 1966
Stadium: Civic Field, Oshawa
President: Luigi D’Alfino
Head Coach: Tito Marimpietri
Key players: Goalkeeper Robert DiDanieli


Founded: 1976
Head Coach: Spiro Papathanasakis
Key players: Goalkeeper Greg Tassius, Dexter Gilmore, John Constanis, Costa Zambazis, striker Pat Cubelis

St. Catharines Roma
Founded: 1967
Stadium: Roma Park, St. Catharines
Head Coach:
Key players: Goalkeeper Terry Waldorf; Slavko Petrina, Sasha Vukovic, Zoran Ristic, Gerry Vandermerwe and Wyne Vandermerwe

Toronto Croatia

Founded: 1956
Head Coach:
Key players: Goalkeeper Vlado Cvetkovic, Goran Mestrovic, Drazan Bogdan, Flavio Ivanovic, Mato Stanic, Zoran Marjanovic

Toronto Italia

Founded: 1972
Head Coach: Ruben Campolo replaced by Carlos Salguero
Key players: Goalkeeper Velomir Siljanovski, Sante Cesario, Pablo Fernandez, player-coach Carlos Salguero, Stirpe Karic and Zoran Petkiuski.

Toronto Italia hired Ruben Campolo as coach. He had been a goalkeeper for Charita Juniors in Argentina and with Memphis Rogues in the NASL.

Windsor Wheels

Stadium: Windsor Stadium, Windsor
General manager: Pero Kovacevic
Head Coach: Nino Berisic
Key players: Goalkeeper Robert Agostini; defenders Milan Korac, Waldir deSouza and John DaCosta; midfielder Peter Pompinio; forwards Victor Quni and Pece Petrovski

Review of the season

First Portuguese won the league championship by beating Panhellenic 3-0 on September 12, 1990.

After the season Panhellenic, First Portuguese, America United and Oshawa Italia dropped out from the league.

Results and standings

Champions Cup
September 29, 1990 Toronto
First Portuguese 4
Montreal St. Leonard 2