Hamilton & District League


The annual meeting of the Hamilton & District League was held on February 12, 1913. The meeting was attended by representatives from E.E.Y.M.C.A., Sawyer-Massey, Westinghouse, Independent Labor Party, Lancashire, Harvesters, Asylum, Westminster, East End Progressives, Hamilton Rangers and Royal Guardians. J. W. Douglas was elected as president.

Great War

More than 500 of the 600 players that were members of the league were said to have enlisted during the war.


Teams included Chipmans, Dominion Foundries, Harvesters, Homeside, Ontario Hospital and Stelcos.


The annual meeting was held on January 22, 1920. Clubs represented were Harvesters, Homesides, Labor Party, Ontario Hospital, Sawyer-Massey, War Veterans and Westinghouse. Chipmans did not attend the meeting but it was said that they would have a club in the 1920 season.

The clubs in the league were Harvesters, Homeside, Independent Labor Party, Ontario Hospital, Plowites, Sawyers and Westinghouse.


Members of the league were A.O.F, Beverly, Burlington, Chipmans, C.N.R., Corinthians, Dundas, Hillcrests, Lynden, Stelcos, Ulster, Zimmerknits


Teams included Brantford Thistles, Hamilton Grotto Hearts and Hamilton Rangers.


Teams included Fergus Thistles, Hamilton Stelcos, Hamilton Farrars, Hamilton Radios and Brantford Thistles.


In 1936 the Hamilton & District League decided to accept clubs from Guelph as members of the league. The Guelph Carpet Mills and the Lancashire Felt Club from Guelph entered the league. The 1936 members were Stelcos, Radios and Rangers of Hamilton; Brantford Purities; Fergus Beatty Bros.; Carpet Mills and Lancashires.

Lancashire Felt Club won the Hamilton & District League championship.


Teams included Hamilton Hillcrest, Hamilton Stelcos and the newly formed Guelph St. Pats.


Members of the league were St. Catharines, Hamilton Hillcrest, Hamilton Stelco, Fergus and Guelph United.


The Hamilton and District soccer teams decided to operate under the Ontario Football Association. The teams planned to operate a four-team league with Hamilton Stelcos, Hamilton City, Fergus Beatty and Guelph United. A fifth team from the Army Trades School was considered.


Hamilton City Soccer Club won the Hamilton & District League championship.


1966 – 40 teams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s