Canadian National Soccer League

National Soccer League / Canadian Soccer League / La Ligue Canadienne Nationale de Soccer / Archives


The Sparta Athletic Club of Toronto first came to prominence in the Continental Soccer League in the 1950’s. The club was backed by the Czech community in Toronto.

In 1955 Sparta won the Continental Soccer League championship. The win earned the club promotion to the National Soccer League. The club finished seventh in the 1956 NSL standings.

Sparta finished in last place in the 10-team 1957 NSL season. Before the start of the 1958 NSL season the club signed a number of British players.

In 1959 the club was bought by Ernst Ruziczka. The Austrian invested heavily in the team and saw some improvement on the field. Sparta finished eight in the 1959 National Soccer League standings.

In January 1960 the Toronto Sparta club was bought by the Italian group that had invested in the I.C.A. Italia club that were members of the Toronto-based International Soccer League in 1959. The club was now run by Steve Stavro and immediately tried to change its name to Roma FC. However, due to league rules the club had to keep the old name Sparta in the 1960 NSL season.

In January 1961 the club was granted the right to change its name to Toronto Roma. Roma won the 1961 National Soccer League Championship.

Toronto Roma joined the Eastern Canada Professional Soccer League in 1962. They stayed in that league until after the 1966 season.

Roma returned to the National Soccer League before the start of the 1967 NSL season. When the 1967 playoffs were about to start they dropped out due to differences with the league management.

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: