Canadian National Soccer League

National Soccer League / Canadian Soccer League / La Ligue Canadienne Nationale de Soccer / Archives

1967 Season

1967 National Soccer League

President: Bill Boytchuk

Referees included Alex Weir (Hamilton, Ontario)

Review of the season

In February 1967 it was confirmed that Hamilton Primos and Inter-Roma would join the NSL from the defunct ECPSL. The league planned on operating with ten teams but had received applications from other clubs in Toronto, as well as from Rochester, N.Y., and London, Ontario.  

The annual general meeting was held in Toronto on March 4 and two more franchises were added. These were the Serbian White Eagles and former member Olympia.

Hamilton Primos won the league championship. The top six teams in the final league standings qualified for the end-of-season play-offs. Inter-Roma withdrew from the play-offs in October. Windsor Teutonia won the playoff championship.

Leading goalscorer – Victor Jurisevic (Windor Teutonia)

Victor Jurisevic was born in Tuzla in Yugoslavia. Before emigrating to Canada he played for Sloboda Istra. In the 1967 season he scored 29 goals for Windsor Teutonia. In 1968 he joined Toronto Falcons in the North American Soccer League.

Leading goalkeeper – Dick Howard (Hamilton Primos)

6-foot-2 goalkeeper Dick played in the English Football League for Chester City in the 1965-66 season. In 1967 Dick starred for Hamilton Primos in the National Soccer League. He had 15 shutouts during the season. After the NSL season Dick joined Rochester Lancers in the American Soccer League. In the 1968 season he played for Detroit Cougars in the North American Soccer League.

Final standings

Hamilton Primos2218 3 1741537
Toronto Roma2217 4 1671935
Hellas2214 7 1503729
Windsor Teutonia2213 7 2523928
Toronto Hungaria2211 7 4615026
Sudbury Italia2211 8 3383925
Toronto Portuguese22 5 9 8364418
Toronto Ukraina22 412 6214914
Olympia-Harmonie22 513 4275514
Toronto Croatia22 413 5406613
Serbian White Eagles22 615 1357113
Kitchener Kickers22 414 4276112

NSL Play-offs

Playoff semi-finals (two-game-total goals)*
October 9, 1967 at Wigle Park, Windsor
Windsor Teutonia 6
Sudbury Italia 0
October 15, 1967 at Sudbury
Sudbury Italia 2
Windsor Teutonia 2
Windsor Teutonia won series 8-2
*Toronto Roma withdrew from the three-team, round-robin semi-finals.

Playoff semi-finals (three-team, round-robin series)
October 7, 1967 Hamilton
Hamilton Primo 4
Toronto Hellas 0
October, 1967
Toronto Hellas 5  
Toronto Hungaria 2

October, 1967
Hamilton Primos
Toronto Hungaria
Hamilton Primos qualified for NSL Playoff finals

O’Keefe Trophy – Playoff finals

November 5, 1967 at Hamilton
Attendance: 150
Hamilton Primos 1 (Jack Thoms)
Windsor Teutonia 3 (Bob Cain, Jovan Urukala, Victor Jurisevic)

November 12, 1967 at Windsor
Windsor Teutonia 1 (Gaetano Feregotto)
Hamilton Primos 0 

Windsor Teutonia won the best-of-three-games series in two straight games. Thus winning the O’Keefe Trophy for the second season in row.

Exhibition game

October 9, 1967 Toronto
National Soccer League All-Stars 1
Israel National Team 3

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: