1977 National Soccer League

President: Joe Piccininni
First vice-president: John Fisher
Second vice-president: Jose E. Sousa

The NSL also operated with a Second Division.


Steve Sohuyko

Referee-in-chief: Steve Sohuyko

Referees included Paul Avis (Rexdale, Ontario), Bill Bouwmeester (Chatham, Ontario), Nevio Novacco (Chatham, Ontario), Charlie Haslem (London, Ontario) Frank Pavicic, Bill Divorski, Borge Devantier (Belle River, Ontario), Mimmo Calavretta and Phil Clarke (London, Ontario).

Division 1

Clubs and players

In February 1977 London City appointed Ron Clayton as general manager and coach. He had been the coach of London City in the 1976 season. He replaced Charlie Papp as general manager.

Review of the season

The season opened with three games on Sunday April 24. At Lamport Stadium Italia defeated Panhellenic 3-0. Hamilton Italo-Canadians tied Serbian White Eagles 1-1. Windsor Stars beat Toronto Croatia 3-1 in front of 1,000 fans at Mic Mac Park in Windsor.

First Portuguese opened their season on Wednesday April 27 with a 2-0 win over Hamilton Italo-Canadians. On June 24 they suffered their first defeat in 16 games when they lost to London City in London. On July 3 Panhellenic beat First Portuguese 5-0 in front of a season-record crowd of 5,000.

On July 30 Montreal Castors defeated Hamilton Italo-Canadians 2-1. Denis Courage scored one of the goals. On July 31 Castors beat Toronto Macedonia 4-1. Newcomer Pat Ercoli, Courage, Igor Bachner and Dennis D’Hugo scored against the Macedonians.

The final league game of the 1977 season was played on Thursday October 6 when Hamilton Italo-Canadians beat Panhellenic 6-1.

Montreal Castors won the league championship with two points.

After a disastrous season Serbian White Eagles left the NSL but returned again for the 1979 season as the Toronto Serbians. Macedonia also left the league.

Leading goalscorer – Saban Romanovic (Panhellenic)

Panhellenic’s forward Saban Romanovic was the leading goalscorer in the 1977 NSL season.

Leading goalkeeper – Paolo Cimpiel (Toronto Italia)

Italian goalkeeper Paolo Cimpiel started his professional soccer career with Trapani in the Italian League. He won the Mitropa Cup with Bologna in 1961. In the 1976 season he won the North American Soccer League championship with Toronto Metros-Croatia. He was the National Soccer League’s leading goalkeeper in the 1977 season.

Division 1 Final Standings


National Soccer League Division 2

In December 1976, Club Roma applied for, and was granted, a franchise in the National Soccer League and changed their name to St. Catherines Roma. They were a member of the National Soccer League and the Canadian National Soccer League from 1977 through to 1997.

Review of the season

St. Catharines Heidelberg won 1-0 over Bradford Marshlanders on May 1 at Bradford High School in Bradford. It was the Marshlanders first league game of the season.

Toronto Falcons were Second Division league champions and earned promotion to the First Division.

Ottawa Tigers won promotion the First Division.



Division 2 Final Standings

Leading goalscorer:
1. Billy Telford (Ottawa Tigers) 25 goals

Leading goalkeeper:
1. Jerzy Patola (Toronto Falcons)

Promotion-relagation play off

October 2, 1977 Toronto
Toronto Croatia 3 (Dennis D’Hugo 2, Steve Loparic)
Ottawa Tigers 1 (Tom Henderson)
October 10, 1977 Mooney’s Bay, Ottawa
Ottawa Tigers 2 (Bill McGill, Mike Wharton)
Toronto Croatia 0

President’s Cup (National Soccer League Cup)

First round

June 25, 1977 Windsor
Windsor Stars
Ottawa Tigers

July ??, 1977
Macedonia 2
Polonia 0

Second round

August 31, 1977
Panhellenic 2
Toronto Macedonia 0


September 23, 1977 Hamilton
Hamilton Italo-Canadians 1 (Evangelos Psofims)
Panhellenic 0

September XX, 1977
Hamilton Italo-Canadians

Panhellenic qualified for NSL Cup final

September XX, 1977

September XX, 1977

XX qualified for NSL Cup final


Panhellenic won the NSL Cup

Exhibition games

April 3, 1977 Warren Tower High School, Warren, Michigan
Detroit Vardar SC 0
Windsor Stars 4 (Billy Lee 2, Serba Topalovic, Nenad Jovic)

June 5, 1977 War Memorial Stadium, Buffalo
Buffalo Blazers 1 (Kulu)
Lazio (Italy) 6 (Vincenzo D’Amico 4, Bruno Giordano, Rossi)