Canadian National Soccer League

National Soccer League / Canadian Soccer League / La Ligue Canadienne Nationale de Soccer / Archives

1991 Season

1991 National Soccer League

League commissioner: Rocco LoFranco


Referees included Mladen Moric


The Annual General Meeting was held on December 2, 1990 in Toronto. The league operated as a ten-team league.

Before the season started the league added Scarborough International, Toronto Jets, Toronto/North York Argentina, North York Strikers and Woodbridge Azzuri.

London City were again managed by Harry Gauss. Returning players included goalkeeper Craig Sinnott, defenders Rob Mikalachki, Doug Rudnicki and Chris Wood; midfielder Chris Wood and forward Paul Hillman. They also signed two forwards, Tony Tamburro from Toronto Italia and Bill Meadus from Fanshawe College.

North York Strikers were led by Frank LoFranco.

St. Catharines Roma won the Canadian Championship. Key players included Martin Dugas and Sasha Vukovic.

Scarborough International joined the league from the Ontario Soccer League. They were formerly known as Toronto International.

Toronto Argentina coached by Elio Garro. Canadian international star Igor Vrablic was their leading goalscorer.

In November 1990 former Hamilton Steelers coach Vid Horvath returned to Toronto Croatia as a coach. He had previousily coached Croatia in 1987. Star player Ivica Raguz was voted league MVP after the season.

Toronto Italia were led by coach and general manager Peter Felicetti.

Toronto Jets had their base in Brampton and counted on forward Gavin Houston to score their goals.

Windsor Wheels imported a coach and three players from Brazil to strengthen their team. Coach Walter Barbosa had been a player in Brazil and Venezuela, and had been a coach at Brazilian teams Juventus, Montenegro and Palmeiras. The Brazilian players were defender Joao Araugo; and midfielders Silas Ferreira and Luiz DeSouza. Returning players included Rob Agostini, Milan Korac, Mike Vigh and Victor Quni. In May they sined former Toronto Italia forward Horacio Medaglia. In July they strengthened their team by signing Detroit Rockers (National Professional Soccer League) star Drago.   

Review of the season

In London City’s first match of the 1991 league season they drew 0-0 with North York Strikers.

Windsor Wheels opened their season at Windsor Stadium with a 3-0 over London City on Sunday May 12.

Toronto Italia won the league championship with one more point than second-placed Scarborough International. It was not until the final league match of the season that the championship was decided. When Scarborough International met Windsor Wheels in Windsor on September 22 they needed a win to go past Toronto Italia on goal average. However the match finished in a 0-0 tie and the Scarborough team finished tied for second-place with St. Catharines Roma.

After the season former Windsor Wheels forward Mike Vigh signed for Maltese first division club Sliema Wanderers. The league dropped the Scarborough team. They were to be replaced by Richmond Hill Kick.

Coach-of-the-Year – Peter Felicetti (Toronto Italia)

M.V.P. – Ivica Raguz (Toronto Croatia)

Rookie-of-the-Year – Paul Hillman (London City)

Final standings

Toronto Italia1811 2 5281327
Scarborough International1810 2 6251126
St. Catharines Roma1712 3 2371826
Toronto Croatia18 9 5 4221322
Argentina18 8 5 5301821
Woodbridge Azzurri18 6 7 5233017
Windsor Wheels185103222313
North York Strikers17 411 2122610
Toronto Jets17 210 51627 9
London City18 213 31536 7

Toronto Italia won the 1991 National Soccer League Championship.

National Soccer League Cup


July 17, 1991 Toronto
Argentina 2
Windsor Wheels 0

July 28, 1991 Windsor Stadium, Windsor
Windsor Wheels

XX, 1991

XX, 1991


XX, 1991

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: