1986 National Soccer League

President: Rocco LoFranco
Director of Public Relations: Bryn Lloyd

Annual general meeting

The annual general meeting was held in Windsor on the weekend of December 14-15, 1985. At the meeting it was decided to add a Quebec division for the 1986 season. Work also started to move away from ethnic team names, with an hope to eliminate all ethnic names within three years. Each NSL franchise would also be required to post a bond of $ 15,000 to protect against financial collapse in mid-season. The name change of Dinamo Latino to Toronto Blizzard was also approved. The league decided to allow each team five imports this season.

Clubs and players

First Portuguese

Founded: September 23, 1956
Head Coach:
Key players: Goalkeeper Francicso Coelho, forward Francisco Bolota

London Marconi Soccer Club

Founded: 1962
Head Coach:
Key players: Goalkeeper Glen McNamara, midfielder Ed McNally forwards Louie Fotia, Sid Marsh, Ron Marsh, David Crabb and Philip Murphy

Panhellenic (Scarborough Olympics)

Founded: 1976
Stadium: Highview Park and Birchmount Stadium

Formerly known as Panhellenic the team was coached by Colin Byron. Before the season they signed former Toronto Blizzard-player Gordon Wallace and forward Bobby Voivondidis from Greek second division club Kastoria. Returing players included goalkeeper Robert Judd and forward Pat Cubelis

St. Catharines Roma

Founded: 1967
Stadium: Roma Park, St. Catharines
Head Coach:
Key players: Goalkeeper Marcus Klein

Toronto Blizzard

Stadium: Varsity Stadium, Toronto
Head Coach: Dave Turner
Key players: Goalkeeper Paul Hammond, midfielder Lyndon Hooper

Toronto Croatia

Founded: 1956
Stadium: Etobicoke Centennial Stadium, Toronto
Head Coach: Bruno Pilas
Key players: defender Tom Panhuysen, Blaz Redic, Ninino Beljo

Toronto Italia

Founded: 1972
Stadium: Etobicoke Centennial Stadium, Toronto
Head Coach: Carlos Delmonte replaced by Alex Moore
Key players: midfielder Ed McNally, Cosimo Comisso, forwards Carlos Salguero and Danny Simijoski

Windsor Wheels

Stadium: Windsor Stadium, Windsor
Head Coach: Gus Moffatt replaced by Vern Mittermeier
Key players: Waldir deSouza.

Review of the season

Toronto Blizzard won the league championship.

Toronto Croatia went through a winless season.

Toronto Italia won the NSL playoff championship.

Blizzard’s Carlo Bosco was voted NSL Player of the Year.

Results and standings

Leading goalscorers
(As of August 29, 1986)
1. Mustafa Muratovic (Windsor Wheels) 10 goals
2. Ace Ntsoelengoe (Toronto Blizzard) 8 goals

September 21, 1986 Varsity Stadium, Toronto
Toronto Blizzard 1 (Marco Abascal)
Panhellenic 0
September 21, 1986 Etobicoke Stadium, Toronto
Toronto Italia 2
London Marconi 1

September 24, 1986 Varsity Stadium, Toronto
Toronto Italia 1
Toronto Blizzard 0

NSL League Cup Championship

September 26, 1986 Toronto
Vancouver Columbus Italia 1 (Frank Ciaccia)
Laval (NSL Quebec champion) 0

September 28, 1986
Toronto Blizzard 2 (Lyndon Hooper, Hector Marinaro)
Vancouver Columbus Italia 1 (John Guzzo)